Heather, Oak, and Olive: Three Stories

These three dramatic stories show the author at her best, vividly bringing new life to ancient timesTHE CHIEF S DAUGHTER 1966 The Clan seized young Dara, son of the Irish raiders, for sacrifice to the Black Mother But Nessan, the chief s daughter, pleaded for his life The Mother took angry revenge, so again the Clan offered him as victim And again Nessan interfered heThese three dramatic stories show the author at her best, vividly bringing new life to ancient timesTHE CHIEF S DAUGHTER 1966 The Clan seized young Dara, son of the Irish raiders, for sacrifice to the Black Mother But Nessan, the chief s daughter, pleaded for his life The Mother took angry revenge, so again the Clan offered him as victim And again Nessan interfered heedless now of all costs.A CIRCLET OF OAK LEAVES 1965 Aracos still remembered the battle long past, yet he never joined the cavalrymen in recounting its events One day the men thought they knew his secret Had he won the Circlet of Oak Leaves, the highest award for bravery Why was he silent A CROWN OF WILD OLIVE 1971 aka THE TRUCE OF THE GAMES New ton the great Games of the Olympiad, Amyntas and Leon were rivals and members of warring states But they became close friends, even knowing that when the Games ended, they would never be able to meet again.
Heather Oak and Olive Three Stories These three dramatic stories show the author at her best vividly bringing new life to ancient timesTHE CHIEF S DAUGHTER The Clan seized young Dara son of the Irish raiders for sacrifice to the

  • Title: Heather, Oak, and Olive: Three Stories
  • Author: Rosemary Sutcliff Victor G. Ambrus
  • ISBN: 9780525315995
  • Page: 285
  • Format: Unknown Binding
  • 1 thought on “Heather, Oak, and Olive: Three Stories”

    1. Three short stories by a master storyteller. Interestingly, of two friends and I who read this book, each of us had a different favorite. Mine is the first, "Heather". As my sister said, this is one of the most perfectly structured stories I've ever read. It also features a brave and decisive little girl. The last story is utterly realistic and utterly sad - two boys, one Athenian and one Spartan - experiencing the truce of Olympia at a time of war. This was Amanda's favorite. My sister loved th [...]

    2. God. Okay. If Sutcliff is a master craftsman, short stories are so clearly her glass case pieces. This collection of three short stories of young people from three different eras--pre-Roman Wales, Roman Britain, and Athenian/Spartan Greece--are so finely crafted, so well done, it was as if I was standing in the fora watching them occur. I think this is where I might start in suggesting someone get into Sutcliff, because they're a deceptively easy read with so much going on in them. Her ability t [...]

    3. For fans of Historical Fiction, Rosemary Sutcliff ranks among the divine. Her prose is easy and fluid, and these three short stories, hard to find, are beautifully written and worth tracking down. This is the second book of Sutcliff's that I read, after I fell head over heels for her remarkable re-telling of "Tristan and Iseult". A great book for those interested in ancient Britain, the Roman occupation of those islands, or anyone who delights in a well-told story set in the past.

    4. Three unconnected short stories; I love one, am largely unimpressed by another, and don't know quite what to make of the third."A Crown of Wild Olive" (alternate title: "The Truce of the Games") is set during the Peloponnesian War. Two young competitors at the Olympic Games--an Athenian and a Spartan--strike up a friendship despite the enmity between their city-states. It's easy to guess the basic outline of the plot early on, but that's fine. What makes this story so awesome isn't its plot but [...]

    5. See my full review at The Emerald City Book Review. his slim collection of three stories by Rosemary Sutcliff takes us to three different historical settings -- tribal Wales, Roman Britain, and ancient Greece -- with the author's characteristically vivid sense of place and time. In each story, a pair of young people forges bonds of loyalty and friendship that go against custom and circumstance.I enjoyed all the stories, but the third one, "A Crown of Wild Olive," was the one that stood out for m [...]

    6. As usual, another wonderful set of stories by Rosemary Sutcliff. I liked all of these stories quite a bit. I think I've come to enjoy her short fiction just as much as her novels. "The Chief's Daughter" features one of her typical strong and very likable young ladies as the heroine. "The Circlet of Oak Leaves" (my favorite of this collection) was one of the great military adventure stories Rosemary writes with a lovely friendship, self sacrificing characters and just an overall wonderful storyli [...]

    7. The stories all have similar themes of friendship and sacrificing something for the good of that friend, even your life, if necessary.

    8. Three short stories told with Sutcliff's characteristic achingly beautiful prose and keen sense of emotion. Enjoyed each story, but I think "A Crown of Wild Olive" was my favorite.

    9. These three short stories for young readers are set in different times and places (ancient Wales, Roman Britain, and Greece at the Olympics during the Peloponesian Wars), but all three find their protagonists facing conflicts between friendship and other loyalties. Ms Sutcliff is always a skillful storyteller, but the first story seemed less developed/weaker than the other two.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *