Three Little Pigs

Three brothers One mafia curse A gripping mafia thriller, at once a folk tale like adventure story and moral fable Ben Frank has blood on his hands.He knows that he has killed a man in a bar room brawl He knows that as an Italian immigrant in turn of the century New York, life is tough But what he doesn t know is that the victim s father, a Mafia boss, will settle a Three brothers One mafia curse A gripping mafia thriller, at once a folk tale like adventure story and moral fableBen Frank has blood on his hands.He knows that he has killed a man in a bar room brawl He knows that as an Italian immigrant in turn of the century New York, life is tough But what he doesn t know is that the victim s father, a Mafia boss, will settle a curse, a maledizione , on Frank s family that the shoemaker s three sons will each die in their forty second year.Following the varying fortunes of the shoemaker s sons Al, Nick and Leo Frank as well as their nemesis, a gangster by the name of Terranova , Three Little Pigs grows into a dazzling meditation on chance, destiny, choice and their consequences.At once a gripping thriller and an investigation of character and fate, this is a revenge tragedy written by a master at the very peak of his powers Can the brothers beat the curse From Apostolos Doxiadis, author of Logicomix, comes a unique and completely absorbing crime novel, sure to appeal to fans of Mario Puzo, Don DeLillo and Carl Hiaasen.
Three Little Pigs Three brothers One mafia curse A gripping mafia thriller at once a folk tale like adventure story and moral fable Ben Frank has blood on his hands He knows that he has killed a man in a bar room braw

  • Title: Three Little Pigs
  • Author: Apostolos Doxiadis
  • ISBN: null
  • Page: 342
  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • 1 thought on “Three Little Pigs”

    1. In einem Kloster in den italienischen Alpen trifft ein junger Restaurator auf einen älteren Mann, der ihn bittet, eine Geschichte auf Band aufzuzeichnen. Die Geschichte beginnt vor der Wende zum 20. Jahrhundert mit einem italienischen Auswanderer und seinen Söhnen, die in New York ihr Glück machen. Doch Benvenuto Franco, nun Ben Frank, tötet im Streit den einzigen Sohn eines berüchtigten Mafia-Capos. Tonio Lupo, Tonio der Wolf, verflucht Ben Frank und seine Sippe, indem er ankündigt, Frank [...]

    2. Ach, was sind die nachtragend, diese Mafiabosse. Schließlich war es nur eine Kneipenschlägerei, bei der Ben Frank, recht alkoholisiert, aus Versehen den Sohn von Tonio Lupo umbringt. Und so verhängt er über Ben Franks drei Söhne Al, Nick und Leo die maledizione, eine Blutrache. Lupos Sohn musste mit 42 Jahren sterben, so sollen auch Ben Franks Söhne nur bis zu ihrem 42ten Lebensjahr auf der Erde wandeln. Da Leo aber erst gerade in die Schule gekommen ist und der Mafiaboss kränkelt, kann T [...]

    3. Three Little Pigs is a story that wraps itself around a wonderful premise. An Italian family in early twentieth century New York is cursed when the father kills the son of Tonio Lupo, The Scourge Of Brooklyn. Lupo sets in motion a maledizione which means that the sons of the killer will all die when they are forty-two years old (the same age as Lupo’s only child). To do this, he takes his most promising assassin and retires him from the mob, guaranteeing him a fortune when the murders have tak [...]

    4. Sehr unterhaltsam und gut gemacht, mit den Themen Mafia und Rache auf diese Art und auf diesem Weg eine Geschichte zu erzählen. Es ist die Geschichte von drei Brüdern und ihrem Killer, eine Reise durch die Jahrzehnte, und gäbe es ein zynisches, leicht wehmütiges Augenzwinkern, der Erzähler hätte sich mit eben diesem von seinem Leser verabschiedet.

    5. Normalerweise denkt man bei einer Geschichte, die einen Mord behandelt, sofort an einen Krimider üblichen Machart und dass der Inhalt sich darum drehen wird, den Mörder zu finden und seiner gerechten Strafe zuzuführen. Doch das ist bei "Des Menschen Wolf" nicht der Fall, wir wissenrelativ schnell, wer ermordet werden soll, aus welchem Grund und wer das Verbrechen ausführen wird.Aber was bleibt dann noch? Die Zeit davor und danach! Wie fühlt sich ein Opfer, das genau weiss,dass es zu einer b [...]

    6. ANMERKUNG: Vielen Dank an Klett-Cotta für dieses Vorabexemplar.Des Menschen Wolf.In Des Menschen Wolf geht es um die drei Gebrüder Frank, die das Pech hatten, Ben Franks Söhne zu sein. Der hat nämlich versehentlich (Soweit man sowas versehentlich machen kann) den Sohn eines Mafiatypen umgebracht. Und der hat nun geschworen, dass alle drei Frank-Söhne im selben Alter wie sein eigener Sohn ermordet werden sollen. Und das passiert dann auch, erzählt von einem alten Mann.Erstaunlicherweise ist [...]

    7. Originally posted on Crime Fiction LoverBen Frank, a struggling Italian immigrant and businessman, has turned to drink to deal with life’s little setbacks. But a streak of personal bad luck suddenly careens straight to hell when he kills the only son of a mafia boss during a drunken brawl. The father of the slain man, mobster Tonio Lupo, pays a visit to the ruined man, now in prison for murder. Face to face in a prison cell, the don wants to personally declare a devastating curse: each of Ben [...]

    8. Canelo Press sent me a copy of this novel in exchange for my review.“Three Little Pigs” is a literary masterpiece. Beautifully written, the novel stands at a light 219 pages and flows like a babbling book in the readers consciousness. A narrator who seems to delight in the tale relates the story to the readers of brothers trying to beat the fate assigned to them the night their father killed another man in a drunken rage. The narrator tells the story in a fashion that takes us forward in tim [...]

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *